Day 21 – To My Mother

To My Mother

I miss you.

The sunshine is bright outside,

And I put on yellow socks

Because they remind me of good luck.

 

Nothing tastes like your soup does,

You have a magic touch with laundry,

I’m still learning.

 

I am in awe of your patience,

Your grace.

You have made sure that your branches always intertwine with mine,

Shading me as I grow.

 

Today is the hardest when all I want,

Is to give you a hug and see you,

In your kitchen singing we didn’t start the fire.

 

You are a beautiful example of how to live and love,

To care for others.

You teach me so much by letting me stretch out my wings and fly.

I know I will always have safe landing.

 

This poem is for you.

Leave a Reply

