Week 31 – Lost and Found

Lost and Found

It’s quiet.

My hair is braided down my back,

My bean boots and sweater on.

 

It is wintertime,

And now I know for certain I am not her.

I’m me, long brown hair and glasses,

Awkward and sincere.

 

I know now.

I can’t compete, but I don’t have to.

This is my life,

And I will chase the sun before I will chase you.

 

I never lost you, but I found myself,

In the cattails and the soils, in books and in my heart.

 

Somehow that’s everything to me.

Leave a Reply

