June First

June First
6/1/14

Today is June first,
And I can still see you,
Sitting at your desk at the old house,
Tinkering.

I put my athletic watch on,
And I know you are proud of me,
I carry you in my heart wherever I go.

You understood time better,
Than any of us could,
Especially when the hands went quiet,
And stopped.

Today is June first,
And 613 hundred times the hour hand has chimed since you left us.
I will always smile for you,
And every time the sun meets the horizon I know you smile back.

Today is June first,
And we miss you,
Our watchmaker.

Leave a Reply

