Midnight Thunderstorms

Midnight Thunderstorm

Midnight Thunderstorm,
 
How you wake me, 
Flashing,
Crashing, rumbling.
 
The day is so new, 
The rain so cool on such an early summer night.
Humidity beads my hair and leaves hollows beside my eyes.
 
Cool, stealthy rain,
Pattering and streaming and running and dancing to me,
Leaving patterns on my skin.
 
You bring a new day.
Not at dawn, but at midnight.
 
You come in,
Without a tremble,
Strongheaded and forceful and beautiful,
Your noise and your fierceness and your fire.
 
Midnight Thunderstorm,
This is my love letter to you. 
Leave a Reply

